Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Cast Announced

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child-lead-cast

Jamie Parker, Noma Dumezweni and Paul Thornley are all set to portray our favourite trio Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley in the upcoming stage play respectively. Yes I can’t go and attend it but I’m super excited for it! Harry Potter and the Cursed Child takes off nineteen years after the last book ended (not counting the epilogue). Harry is a middle aged father of three kids and still grappling with all that he went through. Albus, his second son faces the struggles of his family’s legacy that he never wanted.

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child

I’m amazed how J. K. Rowling never fails to surprise us and keep us on our toes. Although she has strongly supported the play cast, I don’t find myself quite satisfied with it. I’m sure all three of them are great actors but what happened to Ron being a ginger? Throughout the books and the movies it’s been forced upon us like a million times how Ron is a redhead and the least they could do was pick one. But I guess a wig will have to do.

As for Hermione, she was always the one for equality among all the magical races. Also, her colour and race is nowhere mentioned in the book (again very clever of you J K). So I think it’s very symbolic that a character who promotes equality herself will become the embodiment of it when portrayed by Noma Dumezweni. And nobody should have a problem with the casting. That being said, I watched the first Potter movie before I read them books so I’ve always imagined Emma Watson as Hermione. And this sudden change is quite jarring to my imagination and it’s going to be a while before my head wraps around the idea of Noma Dumezweni as Hermione.

harry-potter-hermione-granger-ron-weasley

Let’s hope they take up the mantle as well as Daniel, Emma and Rupert. Really can’t wait for it!


Are you excited for the play? And what do you think of the cast?

Shivalika-Swar

Leave a Reply

