DIY Paper Lantern

diy-paper-lantern

Hello everyone! Recently I went to a handcraft mela where I saw these beautiful lanterns. I knew that I’m going to make it no matter what. As Diwali is almost here I decided to give it a try and here is the result!

diy-paper-lantern-1

The materials you would require:

  • Handmade sheet
  • Cardboard
  • Tracing paper
  • Tassels (or thread to make them) and beads
  • Black poster colour and paint brush
  • Nail and Hammer
  • Scissors and Fevibond

diy-paper-lantern-2

Take four handmade sheets of A4 size. I picked yellow because of its festiveness. ( The colour and size totally depends on you.)

At a space of 1.5 inch from top and bottom draw a pattern of leaves and cut it out. I used a cutter and it took me ages, so it would be better if you have a puncher.

Now paste the strips of tracing paper behind the the cut outs.

At the centres I’ve drawn images of Ganesha but again you can draw whatever catches your fancy.

Now cut out borders from the cardboard of size 19 x 27cm that are 1cm in width. Cover these borders with the handmade sheets.

Using nail and hammer, punch 4 equally distanced holes on the edges of each side.

diy-paper-lantern-3

This is the part where I apologise for not clicking more pictures.

I hope you can deduce from the image how the thread is used to crisscross every two sides of the lantern until we get the box structure.

Tie the threads tightly at each end so the structure is not shaky. To make it more secure just glue the sides together.

diy-paper-lantern-4

I couldn’t find tassels in any shops so I made 4 of them. I also added a bead at top before attaching it to the bottom of each vertex.

diy-paper-lantern-5

Voila! The lantern is all ready! 🙂

diy-paper-lantern-6

It can also be used as a cute side table lamp if you want.

So I hope you like it and find it useful. And share your Diwali DIYs with me as well. Happy craft making all! ❤

Shivalika-Swar

One thought on “DIY Paper Lantern

Leave a Reply

